Tourism, Arts & Culture

VISION : To make Lagos State the preferred destination for Tourism, Leisure and Business in Africa

MISSION: To attain Sustainable Tourism Development through an enabling environment that is acceptable to both domestic and international tourists.


Tourism in Lagos State was first fashioned in 1995 by the Military Administration of Captain Mike Akhigbe as a department under the Ministry of Home Affairs.

In 1991 the Government of Chief Michael Otedola, removed the Tourism Department from the Ministry of Home Affairs and merged it with the Ministry of Information and Culture, thus becoming the Bureau of Information, Culture & Tourism and was headed by a Permanent Secretary.

In 1994, the Tourism Department was again detached from Bureau of Information, Culture and Tourism and was merged with the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism (MCIT) and was headed by a Commissioner.

During that period, the Lagos State Tourism Board was created out of the Tourism Department; the functions of the Board were strictly tourism promotion and marketing while on the other hand the Tourism Department was in charge of policy matters.

In 1998, the Tourism Department and the Lagos State Tourism Board became a full Corporation with the name Lagos State Waterfront and Tourism Development Corporation (LSWTDC) under a Managing Director

In 2007 the LSWTDC was divided into 2 (two) different ministries: Ministry of Tourism & Intergovernmental Relations and Ministry of Waterfront Infrastructure Development

The Administration of His Excellency, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode in 2015 rechristened the Ministry and expanded its Ministerial responsibilities to read Ministry of Tourism Arts and Culture.