Notice: Undefined index: tie_hide_meta in /home/lasgbackup/public_html/wp-content/themes/lagos_mini/framework/parts/meta-post.php on line 3

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /home/lasgbackup/public_html/wp-content/themes/lagos_mini/framework/parts/meta-post.php on line 3

The Council Chairmen of Ikorodu, Epe, Badagry, Surulere, Eti-Osa and Oshodi-Isolo Local Government Areas, have thrown their weight behind the community-based tourism initiative being championed by the Lagos State Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture. 

The six LGAs had earlier been shortlisted by the Ministry to kick start the first phase of its Community-based Tourism initiative. 

The Chairmen made the pledge individually when officials of the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture, led by the Honourable Commissioner, Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yussuf, the Special Adviser, Mr. Solomon Bonu, and the Permanent Secretary, Princess Adenike Adedoyin-Ajayi, as well as other senior officials, were on a sensitisation visit to the six local councils. 

Akinbile-Yussuf, during the visit to Epe Local Government, expressed delight with the acceptance of the Community-based Tourism initiative by the leadership of the Council. 

In her words: “I am so happy and delighted that people we need to talk to are here, particularly the community people, so the information we are passing now is that we should all embrace this Community-based Tourism initiative because there is so much we can do as far as our tradition and culture are concerned in our different localities”.

The Permanent Secretary, Princess Adenike Adedoyin-Ajayi, said the Ministry had reviewed tourism activities in Lagos State and came up with different initiatives that would enhance the growth of tourism, adding that one of such initiatives is the concept of Community-based Tourism. 

Princess Adedoyin-Ajayi stressed that the sensitisation exercise is to enlighten the LGAs about the intentions of the State Government, which are premised on the belief that the economy of the State can further improve if its various communities take ownership of tourism potentials around them. 

The Senior Special Assistant to the Governor, Mr. Tunji Seymour, remarked that the team was going across the six pilot LGAs to promote Community Based Tourism, saying that the initiative will bring government to the grassroots, take miscreants off the streets, improve businesses and also create synergy between the State and Local Governments.

The Chairmen of Epe, Ikorodu, Badagry, Surulere, Eti-Osa and Oshodi-Isolo Local Government Areas, Princess Olayemi Animashaun, Mr. Adeshina Wasiu, Mr. Olusegun Onilude, Mr. Sulaiman Bamidele Yusuf, Mr. Saheed Adesegun Bankole and Otunba Kehinde Almoroof Oloyede, applauded the initiative of Communit-Based Tourism by the State Government.

They promised to give necessary support for the success of the programme in their respective local councils.

SEO Ajansı